My Trip to New Orleans

In July, my work sent me and co-worker down to New Orleans for systems testing. I had never been to New Orleans, so I thought this would be fun. Yes, I know work did come first but I had evenings to look-around. Our hotel was near the French Quarter, so most of my looking around Quarter since I did not have a rental car. I did walk around Bourbon Street. No, I did not go into any of the Adult Entertainment.

I did get to eat a lot of seafood while I was there. I had shrimp po’boy from local restaurant, Zydeco.


Since I was in the quarter, I had Beignets at Café Du Monde. Not bad. The trick is not getting any of the powdered sugar on your clothes. I succeed!

Also, I was able to have dinner and visit one of my best friends from K-State. She lives and works down in New Orleans. I had not seen her in years, so it was a great time. She took me to the Garden District for Dinner. Then we went to a two story Target and two-story Borders!!!

The next day I was able to go to the Aquarium. I like Aquariums! This one has PENGUINS!!! I love penguins! I took many pictures of the penguins and other sea life.

The really “fun” happened on my way home. BUT nooooo Dallas had to have some severe thunderstorms go through around the time we were suppose to leave. So we were delayed 3 hrs. Also, our connecting flight to KC through Dallas got cancelled and they re-schedule us for 7 am today There was a rescheduled KC leaving at 11pm but there was already 30+ people on stand by, so we were stuck in Dallas. So the airline got us a discount on a hotel rooms for the night. By now it is getting on to be 11 pm. Then we had to wait for over an hour for the hotel’s bus because the bad had cancelled a lot of flights. So by the time we got to the hotel it was around 1 am and we needed to be at the airport by 5:30. So I got about 2 hrs of sleep at the hotel before we had to leave. We got back to airport and went through security and sat down at the terminal for our flight. I was tired, hungry and needed a shower. My luggage got to KC before I did.

But all in all, it was a fun trip to New Orleans. If I get the chance to go back, I would go back!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

